LIVE: 2023 Gold Glove finalists being announced

Detroit Tigers

The 2023 Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalists are being announced on X (the social media platform formerly known as Twitter), with winners to be unveiled on ESPN’s “Baseball Tonight” on Sunday, Nov. 5, at 7:30 p.m. ET. All of the finalists will be listed below as they are announced by Rawlings.

There are three finalists per league at each position, including the utility spot, which was awarded for the first time in 2022.

To determine the winners at the nine standard positions, the 30 MLB managers and up to six coaches from each team vote from a pool of players in their league, excluding players from their own team. These votes comprise 75% of the selection total, with the SABR Defensive Index counting for the other 25%.

For the utility position, Rawlings collaborated with SABR to create a specialized defensive formula separate from the traditional selection process.

Here are the 2023 Gold Glove Award finalists:

Articles You May Like

Jim Leyland is elected to the Hall of Fame
Alex Faedo To Have Fourth Option Year In 2024
Anthony Iapoce to take over as Tigers first base coach amid plenty of other system news
Previewing the Winter Meetings for the Detroit Tigers
Coaching Notes: Tigers, Iapoce, Royals, Dillon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *