Detroit Tigers rookie center fielder Riley Greene wins 2022 Tiger of the Year

Detroit Free Press

Detroit Tigers center fielder Riley Greene is the first rookie to win Tiger of the Year since Mark Fidrych in 1976.

Greene was announced Friday afternoon as the 2022 Tiger of the Year, as voted on by the Detroit chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America. The 22-year-old played 93 games for the Tigers after his MLB debut on June 18.

Seven players received first-place votes: Greene (7), left-handed starter Tarik Skubal (5), catcher Eric Haase (4), utility player Harold Castro (3), designated hitter Miguel Cabrera (2), left-handed closer Gregory Soto (2) and shortstop Javier Báez (1).

MORE ON GREENE:Examining Riley Greene’s rookie season, Super Two status and future with Tigers

Skubal led the Tigers this season in Fangraphs’ Wins Above Replacement, worth 2.9 fWAR, followed by Báez (2.0 fWAR), second baseman Jonathan Schoop (1.5 fWAR), right-handed reliever Joe Jiménez (1.4 fWAR) and Haase (1.3 fWAR).

Greene’s 0.9 fWAR ranked fourth among Detroit’s position players. Upon his arrival, he immediately took over as the everyday center fielder, and after a few games, became the Tigers’ leadoff hitter.

The Tigers selected Greene with the No. 5 overall pick in the 2019 draft.

In 2022, Greene hit .253 with five home runs, 42 RBIs, 36 walks and 120 strikeouts in 93 games, posting a .321 on-base percentage and .682 on-base-plus-slugging percentage. He had a 98 wRC+, better than any Tiger with at least 400 plate appearances but slightly below the league average.

The Tiger of the Year award was established in 1965.

Tiger of the Year winners since 2000

2000: Bobby Higginson

2001: Steve Sparks

2002: Randall Simon

2003: Dmitri Young

2004: Ivan ‘Pudge’ Rodriguez

2005: Placido Polanco

2006: Carlos Guillen

2007: Magglio Ordonez

2008: Miguel Cabrera

2009: Justin Verlander

2010: Miguel Cabrera

2011: Justin Verlander

2012: Miguel Cabrera

2013: Miguel Cabrera

2014: Victor Martinez

2015: J.D. Martinez

2016: Justin Verlander

2017: Justin Upton

2018: Nick Castellanos

2019: Matthew Boyd

2020: Jeimer Candelario

2021: Jeimer Candelario

2022: Riley Greene

Articles You May Like

GameThread: Tigers vs. Nationals, 1:10 p.m.
Change in approach powers offensive breakout for Tigers 2B prospect Hao-Yu Lee
Nationals 5, Tigers 4 (F/10 innings): You gotta catch that third strike
Tigers 0, Brewers 10: This game was bad and it should feel bad
Tough questions on Detroit Tigers’ .500 level of play

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *