Leyland on Hall of Fame’s Contemporary Baseball Era ballot

Detroit Tigers

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum today announced the eight-person ballot that will be considered by its Contemporary Baseball Era Committee for Managers/Executives/Umpires for Hall of Fame election for the Class of 2024. The Contemporary Era Committee will meet on Dec. 3 at baseball’s Winter Meetings in Nashville, Tenn.

Four managers, two executives and two umpires comprise the eight-name Contemporary Baseball Era Managers/Executives/Umpires ballot, which features candidates whose primary contribution to the game came since 1980.

The Contemporary Baseball Era Managers/Executives/Umpires ballot includes Cito Gaston, Davey Johnson, Jim Leyland, Ed Montague, Hank Peters, Lou Piniella, Joe West and Bill White. All candidates except Peters are living.

The results of the Contemporary Baseball Era Committee vote will be announced live on MLB Network’s “MLB Tonight” at 7:30 p.m. ET on Sunday, Dec. 3.

Any candidate who receives votes on 75 percent of the ballots cast by the committee will earn election to the National Baseball Hall of Fame and will be inducted in Cooperstown on July 21, 2024, along with any electees who emerge from the 2024 Baseball Writers’ Association of America election, to be announced on Jan. 23, 2024.

The Contemporary Baseball Era Committee for Managers/Executives/Umpires is one of three groups eligible for consideration as part of the Era Committee process, which provides an avenue for Hall of Fame consideration to managers, umpires and executives, as well as players retired for more than 15 seasons. The Contemporary Baseball Era features two distinct ballots: One for managers, executives and umpires (considered this fall) and one for players (to be considered next in the fall of 2025).

Following the restructuring of the Era Committee process in the spring of 2022, the two Contemporary Baseball Era ballots were instituted, along with the Classic Baseball Era, which includes all candidates whose primary contribution to the game came prior to 1980. The Classic Baseball Era Committee will meet for the first time in the fall of 2024.

The eight Contemporary Baseball Era manager/executive/umpire finalists were selected by the BBWAA-appointed Historical Overview Committee from all eligible candidates whose most significant career impact was realized since 1980. Eligible candidates include managers and umpires with 10 or more major league seasons and retired for at least five years (candidates who are 65 years or older are eligible six months following retirement); and executives retired for at least five years (active executives 70 years or older are eligible for consideration regardless of the position they hold in an organization and regardless of whether their body of work has been completed). All candidates must not be on Baseball’s Ineligible List.

The Contemporary Baseball Era managers/executives/umpires ballot was determined this fall by the Historical Overview Committee, comprised of 10 veteran historians: Bob Elliott (Canadian Baseball Network); Jim Henneman (formerly Baltimore Sun); Steve Hirdt (Stats Perform); David O’Brien (The Athletic); Jack O’Connell (BBWAA); Jim Reeves (formerly Fort Worth Star-Telegram); Tracy Ringolsby (InsideTheSeams.com); Glenn Schwarz (formerly San Francisco Chronicle); Susan Slusser (San Francisco Chronicle); and Mark Whicker (Los Angeles News Group).

The 16-member Hall of Fame Board-appointed electorates charged with the review of the Contemporary Baseball Era managers/executives/umpires ballot will be announced later this fall. The Committee will meet to discuss and review the candidacies of the eight finalists as part of baseball’s Winter Meetings on Dec. 3 in Nashville, Tenn.

The eight candidates for Contemporary Baseball Era Committee consideration for the Class of 2024:

Articles You May Like

Tigers sign infielder Gio Urshela to a one year deal
Tigers To Sign Gio Urshela
Marygrove Awnings Spring Training Report 2.19.24
Tigers Claim TJ Hopkins, Designate Kolton Ingram
Tigers acquire 19-year-old LHP Blake Dickerson from the Padres

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *